So the world may hear

I’ve accepted a challenge and I need your help in the next 48 hours. Someone I respect tremendously has challenged me to raise money for the Starkey Hearing Foundation, an organization whose mission it is to change the social consciousness of hearing and hearing matters through education and research while providing the gift of hearing to those in need around the world. I have 48-hours to raise as much money as I can to help this incredible foundation. I will be so grateful for any donation to help me reach my goal. Even just $5 will make a difference. If I reach my personal goal of $1000, you will be helping to give 4 children the gift of hearing. That’s 4 more children who will have access to the world around them that they wouldn’t otherwise have. That’s 4 mothers who will experience the joy I felt when I watched my child’s face light up when she heard her first sound, or said “mommy” for the first time. 4 parents who will get to watch their children grow and thrive in the way I do every single day.

DONATE NOW!

Did you know that one of our 33 children are born with hearing impairment every year, making it the number one birth defect in our country? Without language, a child is unable to connect with the world. Hearing is the most critical part of a child’s social, emotional and cognitive development. And yet, most insurance companies do not cover the cost of hearing aids. With today’s digital technology, a pair of hearing aids can cost thousands of dollars. That doesn’t even include the cost of ear molds that need to be changed every few months for growing ears, batteries, hearing tests, programming.

As many of you may know, I was personally affected by hearing loss when my beautiful Leila came into my life over 7 years ago. As a brand new mom just recovering from labor, I was not prepared when the nurses came to me and told me that my precious newborn daughter did not pass the hearing screening. Yes, I went through a period of grief. No mom wants to learn that her baby is anything less than perfect and may face a cumbersome disability. But there would be no pity parties. I was going to stand back up and do what needed to be done to give my daughter the best life she could have.

I am fortunate enough to have the support and resources to be able to provide hearing aids for my child despite the fact that we don’t receive one dime from our insurance provider. So many others are not as fortunate as I and that is why I am doing this. If you have any doubt about what hearing aids can do for a child, watch the video below and then DONATE NOW! The clock is ticking and the 48-hour window will end Thursday night.

One response to “So the world may hear

  1. The John Tracy Clinic http://www.JTC.org is also a worthwhile charity, as is Hearts for Hearing http://www.Heartsforhearing.org in Oklahoma City.

Leave a Reply

