Hello world!

This is my first personal blog post. I decided to start this blog to track my updates/feelings/progress as I begin training for my first marathon. Let me be clear that I am not, and never have been, a runner. As a matter of fact, I hate running. But for some reason this is something I’ve always wanted to do and since I am turning 40 in October, I feel like it’s now or never. 

A little background on the race: I’m training for the Long Beach marathon on October 11th, 2009 as a member of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Team In Training. The money I raise will help stop leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin lymphoma and myeloma from taking more lives. I am completing this event in honor of all individuals who are battling blood cancers.

I sent out a fundraising email to my closest friends and family and 4 people have already donated for a total amount of $93. I am so touched. To make a contribution and help stop this horrible and frightful disease, visit my fundraising page at http://pages.teamintraining.org/los/lbintl09/sadatto.

My official training started on Sunday. I did 40 minutes on the elliptical trainer. Monday was supposed to be a run but instead I ended up playing beach volleyball and it was quite a workout – lots of short sprints in the sand. Tuesday was a rest day and today I ran/walked for 30 minutes on the treadmill. Saturday is our first group practice and I am feeling very nervous about it. 

Thanks for reading my blog and check back frequently for updates about my progress.

Leave a Reply

